sun glitters || “too much to lose”

luxembourg-based victor ferreira works under the moniker sun glitters, and his tunes shimmer and sway almost as much as his pseudonym. one of his recent releases has been the everything could be fine 8-track mini-album, and as standout track “too much to lose” showcases, ferreira’s strengths are downtempo beats and pulsing synths with a layer of washed out vocals. on paper, that might not sound very original or creative, but sun glitters has what a lot of his fellow chillwavers lack, and that’s spirit. each song crafts a perfectly formed soundscape that enraptures all the senses, transporting the listener to a world where polaroid-nostalgia, nighttime bonfires, and sunlit beachgazing are commonplace.

everything could be fine is out now on bandcamp.


yohuna :: revery

yohuna is the reverb-soaked solo project of wisconsinite johanne swanson. over the course of four songs, swanson conducts an orchestra of beats and sweeping synth washes that sound like they’ve been recorded in a church at the bottom of the ocean. over all of this are the haunting echoes of swanson’s voice, that duck and curtail betwixt the compositions like a dove fleeing sunlight. that may be a lot of alliteration to swallow in one paragraph, but there’s really no other way to describe revery, her debut ep. it’s a work of astonishing beauty. stream below, with a free download of standout “mateo.”

revery is out now on bandcamp.

the pains of being pure at heart :: belong

it’s finally here! well, kind of. the pains of being pure at heart have released their sophomore album for free streaming on their website, so you can listen to it as many times as you want! but you have to be on your computer. boooooo! at the very least, this might convince you few holdouts that the pains aren’t a one-trick pony. belong is a delicate and engaging work on par with their self-titled in terms of fully-realized genius. intact are their trademark twee vocals and furiously 80s riffs, this time with some more well-rounded production that smooths out the rough without completely losing the edge. but don’t take my word for it: head on over to their site to hear the entire album, as many times as you want. for a taste, below you can stream the fantastic lead single “heart in your heartbreak.” if you’re like me, christmas just came a little early today.

belong is out 3/29 on slumberland.

marissa nadler || “baby, i will leave you in the morning”

gloomy folk mistress marissa nadler is hot off the heels of her lovely 2009 lp little hells with a kickstarter-funded album, slated for release sometime this spring. first single “baby, i will leave you in the morning” is a fusion of her traditional singer-songwriter style with atmospheric electronics and reverb’d guitar, evoking an almost pink floyd-esque feel. it’s a hazy, dreamy gem from an album we’re anticipating more and more.

marissa nadler – “baby, i will leave you in the morning” (mp3)

seefeel || “faults”

london-based noisetronic outfit seefeel has been relatively silent since their hiatus in 1996. positioned somewhere between shoegaze and ambient electronics, the quartet has returned in 2011 with their first new material in nearly 14 years. a sung lullaby serves as the intro to “faults,” the standout track from their new self-titled lp. soon, steady percussion and a droning bass take hold, forcing the listener to sway as if entranced in a drug-induced haze. the lead almost lends itself to a dubstep formula of distorted wub-wubs, but never devolves to the lowly form of fratpop the genre has become. this is a track to blast through massive speakers – the primal pull of seefeel’s wilderness cannot be measured over headphones.

seefeel is out now on warp.

the pains of being pure at heart || “belong”

there wasn’t a band as divisive in 2009 as the pains of being pure at heart. either you immediately fell in love with their 80s pastiche or took one look at their name and let out a groan. i landed into the former category, hard, and spent the next two years listening to their self-titled debut on repeat while anxiously combing the wire for news on a follow-up. after releasing a pair of stellar 7″s (“say no to love” and “heart in your heartbreak,” respectively), the pains have finally announced their sophomore lp, belong. the title track is a mixture of crunchy yet swirling guitar riffs and the pains’ trademark twee vocals. it’s a heavier-sounding outing than their last; probably a result of producer flood (of smashing pumpkins) and mixer alan moulding (of my bloody valentine). but beneath the waves of distortion are still the unquenchable optimistic, summer vibes of yesteryear.

“Belong” by The Pains of Being Pure At Heart

the pains of being pure at heart – belong is out march 15th on slumberland.